Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Student Leadership Shines at 2019 Greek Awards

Office of Sorority and Fraternity Life honors the accomplishments of organizations and individuals making positive impacts in the Greek (sorority and fraternity) community and beyond.

Influential chapter advisors, alumni advisors, house directors, and dedicated student leaders are recognized based on nominations from their peers.

Throughout the year, sororities and fraternities participated in philanthropic events, community service, recruitment/membership intake, educational initiatives, and much more. Their efforts culminated in 57,000 total hours of community service and $339,000 raised for local and national non-profit organizations. Greek organizations as a whole averaged a 3.19 GPA, above UT’s all-student average of 3.17. The student retention rate among sororities and fraternities was 92 percent, also higher than the overall university retention rate of 86.7 percent.

More than 2,100 students make up sorority and fraternity community at UT. The following were recognized for their achievements at the 2019 Greek Awards on January 30.


House Director of the Year:

  • Jerriann Bentley, Delta Zeta

Outstanding Advisor of the Year:

  • Collin Donaghue, Pi Kappa Phi
  • Laurie Macnair, Pi Beta Phi

Innovative Program of the Year:

  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. – HBCU Impact Day Video
  • Kappa Kappa Gamma – Thrive Lonsdale Holiday Book Drive

New Member of the Year:

  • Larson McDaniel, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, IFC
  • Marut Bhagat, Sigma Beta Rho, MGC
  • Ellie Tidwell, Delta Gamma, Panhellenic

Emerging Leader of the Year:

  • Brady Fernandes, Delta Tau Delta
  • Prasanna Patel, Sigma Sigma Rho
  • Jasmen Grant, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
  • Sarah Wade, Kappa Kappa Gamma

Chapter President of the Year:

  • Luke McConnell, Sigma Nu, IFC
  • Rikesh Vanmali, Sigma Beta Rho, MGC
  • Robert Nisby, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., NPHC
  • Taryn Lester, Pi Beta Phi, Panhellenic

Outstanding Council Member:

  • James Eun, IFC President
  • Poonam Patel, 2018 MGC Vice President
  • Elizabeth Longmire, 2018 Panhellenic President

Greek Person of the Year:

  • David Branum, Pi Kappa Phi, IFC
  • Urvi Patel, Sigma Sigma Rho, MGC
  • Taylor Wiseman, Delta Gamma, Panhellenic

Council President’s Choice Award:

  • Wilson Garrett, IFC
  • Sigma Beta Rho, MGC
  • Cait Berosh, Panhellenic

Chapter of the Year:

  • Sigma Alpha Epsilon, IFC
  • Sigma Beta Rho, MGC
  • Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., NPHC
  • Delta Gamma, Panhellenic